Lets talk about the elephant in the room for a minute.

Ahoy!

Now that we have introductions out of the way can I be open with you guys? I am dyslexic. What is dyslexia (LD) you ask? Well here is a nice definition from Merriam-Webster website:

Dyslexia: medical : a condition in the brain that makes it hard for a person to read, write, and spell.

In simple terms, I have a process information very slowly that results in me reading books and writing papers twice as long as a “normal person.” But if the tortoise and the hare taught us anything speed is not the only tool to win the race it is also hard work and a drive to succeed despite what critics say. And I have audio books, extra time and other accommodations that help me in college. But this what I mostly talk about when it comes with my dyslexia (LD). I think it is how definitions like the one I provided categorizes dyslexia. As a medical term.

There is a lot of medical aspects of an LD. Believe me and I have enough brain spans of the people with/without LD to become a pro in it. But I hate for me and others to see LD as only a medical term. To me medical terms are things that are kept in labs to be study be scientists. It makes it seem like it is a cold thing to have that I and others need to show that I “overcome” it in school and in life.

But I hate to brake it to you I don’t want to overcome my dyslexia. Dyslexia is like a childhood best friend. Sure we had our moments and fights but we are  going to be with each other the rest of my life. And I don’t want it any other way.

But the elephant in the room is not that I have a LD it is that no one (to my knowledge) shared the daily life events that makes me and others love being LD. I have seen people tell their LD story and for the most part it is isolated in the lab or the classroom. Just like the Hangover’s Wolf Pack me and my LD go on crazy adventures that I am sad “normal” people cannot experience.

If I have the attention span to keep this blog, this is what I what to do. I want to show people that there is a whole another life of LD besides what a definition says. It lives and breaths and goes on crazy adventures. For people who want to see a LD outside of classroom now is your chance!

Now I am sure some of you are wondering why I titled this blog as Melonaid. It comes from a quote on I saw on a shirt, “when life gives you melons you might be dyslexic.” The quote is a play on words (letters?) with the famous praise, “when life gives you lemons make lemonade” because people with a LD mix up their letters. Side note I meant for the blog to be Melonade but I used the wrong aid. But you know what? I like it! It makes more authentic because only a person with LD can make that mistake. Any who, I hope you enjoy this blog and willing to go these crazy adventures with me. I think you are going to have a good time!

Until next time,

MC

Leave a Reply

